Tags, Uncategorized

Book Tag: 17/31 Days of Blogging Challenge!

wpid-book-tag1

E-Book or physical book?

Physical book. Always.

Paperback or hardback?

I LOVE hardback books but it’s guna so much cheaper to buy a paperback and I’m a poor person. I’m am (slowly) collecting the Barnes and Noble Leatherback Classics though!

Online or in-store book shopping?

I really enjoy going into an actual bookstore, taking in that musky new book smell and looking at the shiny new covers, (this is often where I go when I’m stressing out!) But I’m also one of those awful poor people who will go to Amazon and look for a second hand copy that is selling for a couple of pennies.

Stand-alone or series?

This is tricky? It depends on my mood. I love a series because I get really into character development and obviously this can be easier over a series….at the same time, a stand-alone can be a nice break when you just want something quick to read. For example, I REALLY want to read ‘Game of Thrones’ but it’s kinda stressing me out that I don’t have much time to really sink into such a massive series at the moment?

Heroes or villains?

Whoever is the sassiest I guess!

A book you want everyone to read?
‘Oryx and Crake’ by Margaret Atwood. I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this book in a post before? I had to read this for my environmental module at uni and although it took me a while to figure out what was going on, I loved the story and the message so much yet I haven’t found anyone to talk about it properly with yet! It also really makes you think about what we are doing to the planet…

Recommend an underrated book?

‘The Secret Life of Bees’ by Sue Monk Kidd! I was about 14 when I got given this book by my Grandma (the same age as main character, Lily!) I honestly fell in love with the book instantly and tried (and failed) to get everyone to read it. When the film came out I was super excited because it starred Dakota Fanning and Queen Latifa so I ASSUMED everyone would watch the film and the book would become popular! But nope. I know the book deals with mega serious topics like racism, abuse, and suicide, but truly I think it’s a wonderful story and wish more people would give it a shot.

The last book you finished?

It was a free book I got on my kindle called ‘The Dragon’s Treasure: A Seven Kingdoms Tale’ by Sally E. Smith…Not my usual thing at all but I wanted something quick and easy to read while I was in Copenhagen and this was at the top of the free fantasy books so I gave it a shot…Not too sure what to say about it, to be honest, it was pretty cheesy!

The last book you bought?

‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ by Margaret Atwood. I’m so excited to read this! Once I’ve finished reading ‘Freshers’ by Lucy Ivison and Tom Ellen, I’m going to move onto this!

Weirdest thing you’ve used as a bookmark?

Awkward confession time? I’m a monster…I’m a page folder. I KNOW I’M SORRY I’M AN AWFUL HUMAN BEING! If I have a new book, I will always try the bookmark thing, sometimes with actual bookmarks (I have a really pretty holographic fairy one) and sometimes with receipts or bits of paper, but they always fall out in my bag or I lose them so I just resort to folding the page. I kinda like it though? When I go back and read a book again, it’s sort of nice to see where I’ve been before.

Top 3 favourite genres?

YA, Fantasy, Mystery

Borrow or buy?

Buy 100% no question. I like to keep hold of the books I’ve read.

Used books: yes or no?

Sure! It’s a cheaper way to get the books you want and like I mentioned with why I like folding pages, it’s interesting to see where other people have been? I also find it adorable if there are little notes in the front from a loved one.

Characters or plot?

Both?! Your plot can be full of twists and wild landscapes, but if your characters are boring and unrelatable then you can’t slip into their mind which I feel is essential for getting into a good book. Also, your characters can be feisty and charismatic, but if they’re not really doing anything or you can totally predict everything that’s going to happen to them, then it’s going to send you to sleep.

Long books or short?

This would be the same answer as the ‘stand-alone or series’ question above. I like both but depends on how busy I am at the time.

Long or short chapters?

DITTO ABOVE!

Name the first 3 books you think of…

Harry Potter and The Philosophers Stone, Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban… 😉

Books that made you laugh or cry?

I always used to laugh at Sassy Harry Potter, and the last book definitely made me cry but then what else do you expect from a mega-fan? Another book I really remember standing out as a book that made me cry was ‘Before I Die’ by Jenny Downham, (this is also a film called ‘Now is Good’.) The book was kinda of like ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ before the kids-with-cancer-books became a thing…I remember sobbing to my then-boyfriend about how life wasn’t fair while forcing him to write a bucket list with me.

Our world or fictional worlds?

BAH! Okay, I read both, I enjoy both, I do find it much easier to get into a book within our own world’, HOWEVER, I LIVE for fictional fantasy worlds! I’ve always been a big dreamer, losing myself in worlds where I can fly on the back of a phoenix as the sky rains with glitter.

Audiobooks: yes or no?

Mmmmmmm, no? I listened to ‘Maximum Ride’ by James Patterson years ago on holiday and while I did enjoy it, my mind wanders a lot and all of a sudden I have no idea whats happening anymore cause the narrator has been talking for 10 minutes while I’ve completely zoned out!

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

Not if I’ve heard about the book beforehand but if I’m in a bookstore looking for something new, of course, I’m drawn to the pretty and interesting colours! You’re totally lying if you say you don’t!

Book to movie or book to TV adaptations?

Either as long as they do the book justice? I love movies and going to the cinema but a TV series has the potential (although often doesn’t) to show more of what happens in the book.

A movie or TV show you preferred to its book?

‘The Mortal Instruments’ by Cassandra Clare. Loved the movie, meh on the book, (dislike the TV show!)

That’s it for today m’dears! Feel free to do this tag yourself and share it with me so I can see your answers too!

Love,

img_1538-2

3 thoughts on “Book Tag: 17/31 Days of Blogging Challenge!”

Leave a comment