Travel, Uncategorized

Sending Yourself A Postcard: 22/31 Days of Blogging Challenge

 

 

While I was in Denmark, one of the girls I met told me that every time she goes somewhere new, she sends herself a postcard. I admit that I laughed at the idea at first, I thought it was just a cheesy way of giving yourself mail. She explained that sometimes when she gets back from a trip, she feels sad that it’s over. By sending herself a postcard, a couple of weeks after she’s back home, the postcard arrives reminding her of the great times she had and makes her look forward to her next adventure.

The more I thought about this, the more I thought it was a great idea. As I wandered the hauntingly silent and beautiful dome of Frederik’s Church (The Marble Church – in the centre of the picture above), I found a selection of postcards you could buy for a small donation. The postcard idea ran through my head and I couldn’t help but chuck a couple of coins in for one of the glistening cards.

When I set down to write on it, I felt silly and couldn’t think of what to say. I even considered just taking it home and sticking it in a scrapbook; hoping that the picture would just serve as a memory itself. I watched the girl write out her postcards during the evening, smiling as she jotted down her memories. I had to ask, just to see what was making her so happy.

“What’re you writing on it?”

“Anything! Memories, a reminder to be happy, advice…?”

I bit my lip and stared down at the blank side of the card, squeezing my pen in my hand until the inspiration hit. I won’t lie, I still felt stupid and cheesy jotting something down that would make me “happy” in the coming weeks…But I have to say, when the postcard arrived at my door, unexpected and forgotten, it was a wonderful reminder of my time away. Sparking the memories of my first solo adventure and how much I loved it. It was a nice surprise at the end of a long day and encouraged me to keep following my heart; to find the world out there and the grab with everything I’ve got.

Always,

img_1538-2

3 thoughts on “Sending Yourself A Postcard: 22/31 Days of Blogging Challenge”

Leave a comment